Author Bios

Gayle Lynds

New York Times bestseller Gayle Lynds is the award-winning author of ten international espionage novels, including The Assassins, The Book of Spies, and The Last Spymaster. Gayle’s career began with her short stories being published in literary journals while she also wrote male pulp novels. Since then, her books have won numerous awards. Publishers Weekly lists her thriller Masquerade among the top ten spy novels of all time. Library Journal hails her as “the reigning queen of espionage fiction.” Lee Child says she’s “today’s best espionage writer.” The Associated Press calls her “a master of the Modern Cold War spy thriller.” With Robert Ludlum, she created the Covert-One series. The first—The Hades Factor—was a CBS miniseries. A member of the Association of Former Intelligence Officers, she is co-founder (with David Morrell) of International Thriller Writers, Inc. She lives in Maine with her husband and two bossy geriatric cats.

KJ Howe

Travel and adventure are high on KJ’s priority list, including racing camels in Jordan, surfing in Hawaii, ziplining in the Costa Rican jungle, diving alongside Great White Sharks in South Africa, studying modern combat in Arizona, and working with elephants in Botswana. Home is Toronto, Canada, but she is often missing in action.
KJ Howe is the Executive Director of the International Thriller Writers’ annual conference, ThrillerFest. She holds a Specialists Degree in Business as well as a Masters in Writing Popular Fiction. She writes The Freedom Broker series, which features elite kidnap negotiator Thea Paris. KJ spent extensive time researching the dark world of kidnapping, interviewing former hostages, negotiators, hostage reintegration experts, special forces operatives, and K&R insurance executives.

Robin Burcell

New York Times Bestselling author Robin Burcell spent nearly three decades working in law enforcement as a police officer, forensic artist and hostage negotiator. The fifth book in her FBI forensic artist series, The Kill Order, was named as one of Library Journal’s Best Thrillers of 2014. The Last Good Place, released in 2015 was a continuation of the late Carolyn Weston series on which The Streets of San Francisco TV show was based. Burcell also co-writes with Clive Cussler in the Fargo series. Romanov Ransom came out September 2017, and The Gray Ghost will be out in May.

Karna Small Bodman

Karna Small Bodman is the author of four international thrillers that have hit “#1 in Thrillers” on Amazon and won several awards. Karna’s new international thriller is Trust but Verify, and her four previous thrillers have been revised, updated and are being re-released. They are Checkmate, Gambit, Final Finesse and Castle Bravo.
Her novels have been described by, among others, Lee Child as “Gripping and Authentic,” by Nelson DeMille as “Frightening with the crystal ring of truth,” by Tess Gerritsen as “High stakes thrillers,” and by Christopher Reich as “Smart, slick, and exciting as hell.” These stories were inspired by Karna’s six years serving in The White House, first as Deputy Press Secretary, later as Senior Director and Spokesman for the National Security Council where she was the highest-ranking woman on the White House staff. She also was on the air for 15 years as a TV reporter and anchor in San Francisco and Washington, DC and did political commentary for the ABC Network in New York.

Chris Goff

Chris Goff is the award-winning author of six mystery novels and two international thrillers. Her most recent release, RED SKY, set in Ukraine and Asia, DSS Agent Raisa Jordan tests the boundaries of diplomacy while racing to prevent the start of a new Cold War. Red Sky was a 2018 Colorado Book Award Finalist. Her debut thriller, DARK WATERS, set in Tel Aviv amid the Israel-Palestine conflict, was also a finalist for a Colorado Book Award, as well as a Colorado Authors’ League Award and the 2016 Anthony Award for Best Crime Audiobook.

Goff began her career as a columnist and writing non-fiction for local, regional and national publication.  Later she edited rock and ice-climbing guides for Chockstone Press and worked in graphic production for “Living the Good News,” a division of The Morehouse Publishing Group. A long-standing member of multiple writing organizations, she currently serves on the executive committee of the International Association of Crime Writers and on the Educational Committee of Sisters in Crime.

Jamie Freveletti

Jamie Freveletti is an internationally bestselling and award winning author of seven novels, four short stories and is published in four languages. Her Emma Caldridge series won an International Thriller Writers Best First Novel award, a Barry award, was a VOX media pick in Germany and an international bestseller. In addition to her own novels, the Estate of Robert Ludlum has asked her to write for his Covert One series. She's the author of Robert Ludlum’s The Janus Reprisal and The Geneva Strategy. In addition to her fiction, she’s a contributor to the 2017 non-fiction anthology, Anatomy of Innocence, Testimonies of the Wrongfully Convicted edited by Laura Caldwell, of the Life After Innocence project, and Leslie Klinger, author. She is a former trial attorney with a diploma in international studies, an avid distance runner, and a black belt in aikido, a Japanese martial art. She lives in Chicago with her family.

Lisa Black

Lisa Black has spent over twenty years in forensic science, first at the coroner’s office in Cleveland Ohio and now as a certified latent print examiner and CSI at a Florida police department. Her books have been translated into six languages, one reached the New York Times Bestseller’s list and one has been optioned for film. The first two, written as Elizabeth Becka, were followed by seven Theresa MacLean forensic thrillers. Her current Gardiner & Renner series includes That Darkness, Unpunished, Perish, and, in August 2018, Suffer the Children.

S. Lee Manning

S. Lee Manning spent two years as managing editor of Law Enforcement Communications before realizing that lawyers make a lot more money. A subsequent career as an attorney spanned from a first tier New York law firm, to working for the State of New Jersey, to solo practice. In 2001, Manning agreed to chair New Jerseyans for Alternatives to the Death Penalty (NJADP), writing articles on the risk of wrongful execution and arguing against the death penalty on radio and television in the years leading up to its abolition. She also published literary short stories, winning the Cincinnati Mercantile Library short story contest. Currently, she is a full-time writer, living in Vermont. 

Trojan Horse is the first Kolya Petrov thriller.